Student/Community Relations Commission

The Student/Community Relations Commission (SCRC) identifies and explores all matters that the Commission determines are related to student/community relations, and serve in an advisory capacity to the City Council. The Commission shall report and recommend to the City Council as the Commission or City Council deems necessary. The Commission is expressly authorized and directed to make such recommendations to Council relative to legislation or policy matters as the Commission determines to be in the interest of student/community relations.

Composition and appointment

Voting members

  1. Six residents of the City of Oxford, at least one of whom shall reside in the Mile Square to be appointed by the Oxford City Council. Appointments shall initially be staggered as to length of term with two (2) members for one (1) year, two (2) members for two (2) years, and two (2) members for three (3) years. Commission members shall thereafter serve for a term of three (3) years without compensation.
  2. Five Miami University students, appointed by the Associated Student Government. One of whom shall be the Secretary for Off-Campus Affairs and one of whom shall be an international student serving two (2) year terms without compensation.

Ex-officio members

The Commission shall also have 12 ex-officio members as follows:

  1. The City Manager or the City Manager’s designee
  2. The Miami University Vice President for Student Life or designee
  3. The Miami University Health and Wellness Administrator or designee
  4. One representative of the Oxford Chamber of Commerce
  5. One member of the Oxford Police Department
  6. One member of the Miami University Police Department
  7. One representative of the Talawanda School District
  8. One member of the Oxford City Council
  9. One representative from each of the following Miami University recognized organizations:
    1. Interfraternity Council (IFC) or Panhellenic Association (alternate each year)
    2. Graduate Student Association
    3. Commuters of Miami
    4. National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC)

Each of the above ex-officio members shall be appointed to serve a one (1) year term.


Title Name Term Ends
Miami University Student/Chair (Voting) Connor Manley June 2022
Resident (Voting) Joy Usner June 2022
Resident (Voting) Cathy McVey June 2023
Resident (Voting) Matt Arbuckle June 2023
Resident (Voting) Jonathan Shirley June 2022
City Council Representative (Ex officio) Glenn Ellerbe December 2021
Voting Member Marilyn Elzey June 2024