Historic and Architectural Preservation Commission

Oxford has three historic districts—the Uptown Historic District, the University Historic District, and the Western College Historic District—administered by the Community Development Department and the Historic & Architectural Preservation Commission.

The Historic and Architectural Preservation Commission (HAPC) was created in order to protect and enhance structures, sites and areas that are reminders of past eras, events, and persons important in local, state, or national history. This basic mission is more fully developed in Chapter 1331 of the Codified Ordinances of the City of Oxford.

2018-19 Code Update

On March 20, 2018, Oxford City Council adopted a new building/site inventory of the Uptown Historic District. This was step one of three that was decided between the HAPC and City Council on January 20, 2015. Step two is to update the Codified Ordinance that implements the goals of the City Council and HAPC. Step three is to update the Design Guidelines. In order to complete step two the City was assisted by Compass Point Planning / Wendy Moeller, FAICP.

With the completion of the code revisions, HAPC is reaching out to all historic district owners and operators that could be affected. The feedback will be compiled for HAPC and Planning Commission review. The current code and draft code documents can be viewed 1) below, 2) by visiting the Community Development office in the Municipal Building at 15 South College Avenue, or 3) by attending one of the two Open Houses, also listed below. A brief summary of the proposed changes are:

  • Moved the entire Chapter (currently 1331) to new Ch. 1152, in Planning and Zoning
  • Updated definitions to reflect terminology of 2018 Uptown Historic District Inventory
  • Clarified procedures for all applications, districts and designations
  • Added language to encourage historic building maintenance
  • Added process for inspector to provide assessment of a building requested for demolition


Open Houses

  1. Wednesday, December 5, 2:00 to 3:00 PM, Oxford Lane Library Havighurst Meeting Room
  2. Wednesday, December 5, 6:30 to 7:30 PM, Oxford Courthouse

HAPC Staff Contact

Lynn Taylor

Meeting Location: 


Title Name Term Ends
Chair Michael Kohus June 2020
Vice-Chair Christopher Skoglind June 2020
Council Representative Edna Southard November 2019
Member Chad Smith June 2022
Planning Commission Representative Corey Watt November 2019

Upcoming Meetings